Skip to content

Give him a round of applause! A welcome to the Globe Theatre blog from Nick

October 10, 2012

My friend Ruth is flattering and generous, as usual. She is also right on the mark in the sense that the blog you are reading owes its existence to a series of conversations that can be traced back 14 years to the day she was introduced publicly as the artistic director of Globe Theatre. The most recent of those discussions occurred last week when she accepted my offer to contribute to the website through this newly created blog.

That was the easy part. Now what?

Well, now I roll up my sleeves and get to work on what I hope will be a succession of pieces (previews and reviews, profiles and features, sidebars and columns) that you will find informative and entertaining. I’m not sure how much more I can tell you right now, because the fact is, I’ll be making it up as I go along. It’s best to check in frequently to find out for yourself. In a nutshell, my objective is to enhance your live-theatre experience. If the blog should bump up the traffic on the website and maybe sell a few tickets, so much the better. I don’t think the board of directors will mind.

What else? Right. The disclaimer.

As Ruth stated in her introduction, the contents of this blog will not be subject to the approval of Globe Theatre. While it won’t be censored, however, it must (and will) be edited, not only for punctuation and grammar, but also to ensure that the facts are correct and there is never any mention of anybody named “Smiley.”

One last thing.

If you think my motivation here is purely altruistic, you should think again. There is a self-serving component in all of this which I neglected to share with Ruth. I’ll let you in on the secret, if you promise not to tell. I have a jug of men’s cologne that is going to knock your socks off on opening nights! And I’m dying for you to hear the new ring tone on my cellphone! (It was inspired by the iconic Greek pop tune “Never On A Sunday.” This version, in keeping with our theatrical theme, is called “Never On A Monday.”)

That pretty much covers it, I think.

I look forward to joining you at the Globe. And if we haven’t met, well, don’t be shy, for goodness sake, come over and introduce yourself. I’ll be the guy relaxing in the aisle seat with his legs extended comfortably into the stairway. But you’ll probably hear me long before you see me. Listen for the sound of candy wrappers. The crinkly ones.

Nick Miliokas is a freelance writer and editor based in Regina. You can reach him by email at rozenstern@rocketmail.com.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

